A knowledge-driven, innovative, prosperous and pristine Seychelles.



Rm302, 3rd floor, Oliaji Trade Centre, Victoria, Mahe, Seychelles


+248 4325702

// About Us

The Division of Science, Technology, and Innovation (DSTI), formally known as the National Institute for Science, Technology, and Innovation (NISTI) was an autonomous body under the patronage of the Vice President of Seychelles. The institution became a division in the Ministry of Investment, Entrepreneurship & Industry after their Act was repealed in April 2021. Read about the National Institute of Science, Technology, and Innovation (Repeal) Bill here.


DSTI is an umbrella body for all academics, professional associations, and individuals for the development, dissemination, and promotion of science, technology, and innovation. To carry out this function DSTI has 4 main programs Research and Development (R&D), Knowledge Management and Education  (KME), Technology and Innovation.

To drive its programs DSTI formulated a National Policy and Strategy for STI management in Seychelles for transitioning Seychelles into a Knowledge-based and innovation-driven economy in the next ten years 2016-2025.

The policy addresses and strengthens the four key pillars of a knowledge-Based economy, which include, Economic Incentives and Regime, Creating a knowledge Society, Evolving a National Innovation System (NIS), and Building a Modern Information Infrastructure.


DSTI is performing under its medium and long-term strategic objectives and priorities with which, it aims to “Transform Seychelles into a Knowledge-Based and Innovation-Driven Economy that will attain its national as well as the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals by 2030 and ensure the inclusion of STI across all sectors and programs,” To achieve the above objectives DSTI has to achieve these priorities:

Ensure the inclusion and integration of STI across all sectors and programs to foster socio-economic growth and development;

  • Facilitate the development of a National Innovation System;
  • Set up a national open-access data management system; Develop strategic collaboration and linkages with national, regional, and international organizations;
  • Facilitate the development a Business, Technology and Innovation Incubator (BTI) with stakeholder’s collaboration;
  • Set-up a National Research Foundation (NRF); and Set up a STEM education system in collaboration with key stakeholders especially the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development, to provide the necessary knowledge and skills to drive innovation and entrepreneurship.